South High School

Where the World Gathers to Excel

Schoology logo

720-423-6000

General Information

About South High Athletics

Participation in athletics can positively enrich a student’s educational experience at South. This often translates to higher academic and personal success for these students.

All athletic competitions sanctioned by South are governed by the rules set forth by the Colorado High School Activities Association and the DPS Athletic Board of Control. In addition to CHSAA regulations, South may implement standards beyond what is required by CHSAA. Student athletes must abide by the rules set forth by the Denver Prep League and listed on the electronic DPS Athletic Consent Form.

Academics are the priority at South, therefore all athletes must meet weekly and cumulative academic eligibility requirements. Simply stated, these require that athletes maintain a minimum 2.0 semester grade point average, be enrolled in at least five full-credit courses, and not receive a weekly grade of F in more than one class per week.

Fees and Requirements

Students must pay the athletic participation fee of $60.00 per sport before being issued a uniform. Students may pay these fees online during registration. If you choose not to pay online, payment can be made by cash or check with the Athletic Office.

All student athletes must complete online registration and obtain a physician’s clearance for participation in the sport. The athletic registration can be found here: These 3 items (online registration, payment, physical) must be completed by the student and his or her parents/guardians and returned to the Athletic Office before the student can participate in practice or competition.

Eligibility for all Athletics

Eligibility requirements for Athletic Teams, Band, Orchestra, Speech Competition, Vocal Music, Student Senate, and Cheerleading are set by the Colorado High School Activities Association (CHSAA) which governs all school activities for the state. To meet eligibility requirements:

  1. The student must be enrolled in a minimum of 25 credits each semester. This includes both the semester of play as well as the previous semester to gain eligibility. (This cannot include teacher assistant, study hall, or independent study.) Students who drop a class may be in jeopardy of falling below the required 5-credit minimum. Students withdrawing from a class with a failing grade will carry a WF for each weekly grade check for the entire semester.
  2. Students who withdraw carry an F for the remainder of the semester. Any time a student becomes enrolled in less than 25 credits, the student will become academically ineligible.
  3. Students who fail two classes the previous semester are ineligible for competition until the CHSAA mandated recertification date.

Students who receive less than a 2.0 GPA from the previous semester will be allowed to participate, but must obtain at least a 2.0 in the mandated recertification data.

  1. Students transferring schools without a bona fide family move are subject to restrictions set forth by CHSAA.
  2. Athletes must have an up-to-date physical exam on file in the office. Physicals are acceptable for 365 days.
  3. Student’s grades will be certified weekly. Students who receive more than one failing grade during the certification period will be ineligible for the following week.
  4. All 9th graders are eligible at the start of the school year.
  5. Each week teachers will submit a cumulative grade to date in order to establish an athlete’s weekly eligibility.

In addition, coaches, counselors, and the Athletic Director will provide information about athletic requirements. Participation in activities such as student government, clubs, volunteer and community organizations, fine arts, and athletics is the final factor. Of importance is not how many activities you have joined, but rather how fully you participated and carried out your responsibilities

Link to Twitter: @DSOUTHAthletics

Link to Instagram: @dsouth_athletics

Download the Official Schedules App:
iPhone
Android

Athletic Registration

Parents and Student-Athletes,
Online registration typically opens 3 weeks before the season. All athletes are required to register online in order to be cleared and participate in a sport at South. RETURNING athletes just login to an existing account and update their profile, NEW athletes create a new profile. Parents and Athletes will sign all forms electronically and pay the Pay to Play fee online.  Student-Athletes will need to provide a hard copy of their current physical, that document must be brought to the athletics office room 128. A link to our Denver Health School-Based Health Centers School Based Clinics:  If families do not have access to the internet or need assistance in navigating the system they are welcome to stop by the athletics office at South for help.

ALL student-athletes MUST complete the following in order to be cleared to participate. NO EXCEPTIONS!:

  1. Complete the online registration per season
  2. Provide a hard copy of a current physical
  3. Pay the athletic fee per season

Online registration typically opens 3 weeks before the start of season. Fall 2018 Season Starts August 13th, Winter 2018 Season Starts November 9th, Spring 2019 Season Starts February 25th, all must be cleared before season start: Online Registration

*If you are a transfer student from another high school or you attend a high school that does not offer a sport that you are interested in participating at Denver South, you must contact and meet with the Athletic Director adam_kelsey@dpsk12.org

Join the FUN this Summer at 2 – 4 – 1 Sports Camp

Registration for 2018 is now open: Register Now!